Reflecting on 2012

I came across some reflection questions at (in)courage yesterday and I thought I would share my answers with you.  I love thinking about all that happens in a year.  I really enjoy reading my old journals – I still have the ones I wrote when I was 10 or 11!  They’re always good for a laugh.  Plus if I ever write my life’s memoirs like my Grandma did, they’ll be helpful!

So here we go…

Questions for a New Year’s Eve Reflection

1. What was the single best thing that happened this past year?

That one’s pretty easy: the birth of our first child and getting to know him.

joy

 2. What was the single most challenging thing that happened?

Going through labour, only to have a c-section at the end.

3. What was an unexpected joy this past year?

Making new mommy friends

I'm so lucky to be able to hang out with so many great moms

 4. What was an unexpected obstacle?

Saying goodbye to friends who moved away

I still miss this girl!

5. Pick three words to describe 2012.

Pregnancy, baby, love

6. Pick three words your spouse would use to describe your 2012—don’t ask them; guess based on how you think your spouse sees you. 

challenging, fun, new (I was wrong, but not too far off)

7. What were the best books you read this year?

Ooh, I got a lot of reading done!  The best were the Hunger Games series… also House Rules by Jodi Piccoult and Remember Me by Sophie Kinsella

8. With whom were your most valuable relationships?

my husband, my son, my parents, my best friend Mandy, my new friend Erica

I love this picture

9. What was your biggest personal change from January to December of this past year?

Becoming a mother!

DSC_0056

10. In what way(s) did you grow emotionally?

I feel that I became more relaxed about things, which was one of my goals.  Yay!  Go me!

11. In what way(s) did you grow spiritually?

Following the death of a five year old girl in our community, I began to question things about God I’d never thought about before.  While I’m still on this journey, I am rediscovering who Jesus really is.  I am falling in love with Him again.

12. In what way(s) did you grow physically?

I grew really, really big!

.

13. In what way(s) did you grow in your relationships with others?

My relationship with my husband definitely changed – in a really good way.  We absolutely love being parents and it has drawn us closer together.  My relationship with my parents changed as I myself became a parent.  That goes for my grandparents as well.  So many good things have happened as a result of having a baby!

14. What was the most enjoyable part of your work (both professionally and at home)?

I am enjoying being at home and taking care of Shasta.  It is not always easy, but I enjoy having the freedom to go for a walk whenever I want, or go shopping, or eat… it’s great.  Also he is just adorable and I really love his smiles.  I have been having so much fun taking pictures of him too(have you noticed??). I love teaching piano because I get to spend time with hilarious children and also really nice adults.  I also got a new job in November that allows me to be more involved in the community and I really enjoy that.

15. What was the most challenging part of your work (both professionally and at home)?

Finding ways to keep Shasta entertained and keep myself from being burnt out!

16. What was your single biggest time waster in your life this past year?

Hmm… probably checking Facebook

17. What was the best way you used your time this past year?

Spending quality time with Nuni, Shasta, and friends

18. What was biggest thing you learned this past year?

Don’t judge other mothers – you don’t know what it’s like and you don’t know what they are going through.  Do what works for you as a parent.

19. Create a phrase or statement that describes 2012 for you.

2012: A really BIG year: big belly, big baby, big changes!

.

One thought on “Reflecting on 2012

  1. Mary says:

    What a great set of questions for reflection! You are so inspiring, the way you live your life and your relationships. I’m looking forward to hearing about all the adventures the New Year brings.

    Like

Leave a comment