anderson final (48 of 63)

The Importance of Mothers

importance

Happy Mother’s Day, Moms!  Today is our day to be recognized and rewarded for our hard work and awesomeness!  I hope you are all gifted with flowers, chocolate, time-off, perhaps a visit to the spa!  Any or all of the above would be acceptable for me😉

I’m sure we can all agree that being a mother is an honour and a privilege.  I consider myself very blessed to be a Mom.

My boys are one and a half and three and a half.  They are adorable little bundles of energy and I love them so much my heart could burst.  They are sweet, funny, smart and loving.   They make me smile and laugh constantly.  They teach me a lot about myself and about life.  But mothering ain’t easy, that’s for sure.  It can be exhausting and so utterly frustrating.  And we all have those days… days we have trouble staying calm.  Days we just want to go back to bed.  This is a journal entry I wrote last year about one of these days.

November 24th, 2015

Yesterday I had a bad morning.  I was tired, frustrated, and feeling nostalgic for child-free days when I could do whatever I wanted, and I didn’t have to deal with cranky, annoying little people.  The mail arrived and I received my Mount Allison Alumni magazine, The Record.  As I flipped through the pages I started to cry as memories flooded in.  I saw familiar faces and read about my classmates’ achievements.  I felt twinges of sadness, jealousy, and failure.  I wanted to be on the pages of the magazine, celebrated for my hard work.  But my line of work doesn’t often get that kind of recognition.

On the last page of The Record was an excerpt from a convocation speech given by Kevin Vickers, a former sergeant-at-arms who took down the shooter at Parliament Hill on October 22nd, 2014.  I read the first paragraph and stood in disbelief.

I want to talk to you today about two things that I believe can help you as you move on in life.  The first one is called instilling the value of dignity, respecting the dignity of man and the second one I want to talk to you about is the importance of mothers.

He went on to talk about the love and support his mother showed him after the tragic event he was involved in, and ended with this:

So I just want to stress to you the importance of mothers, because Class, you’re going to have your October 22nd and always remember that your mother is there who loves you, who will protect you, and always stand with you.

The tears kept flowing as I silently thanked God, Mount Allison and Kevin Vickers for telling me exactly what I needed to hear in that moment.  For reminding me that this season of parenthood, although tiring and challenging, is so very important.  I won’t win an Alumni Award for the work that I do every day.  But just because I am not recognized or awarded in a magazine doesn’t mean that what I do is not extremely important, valuable and noteworthy.

After taking a minute to compose myself, I went to my three year old and sat on the floor.  Out of the blue, he said, “I love you Mommy.”  I then resumed crying, this time out of joy and guilt, to which he said, “Don’t cry, Mommy!” and as I closed my eyes and leaned my head on my hands he said, “Don’t sleep, Mommy!”  And then I laughed.

—–

Here’s to all of you hard working mothers.  You deserve the highest praise and recognition.  You may not appear in your Alumni Magazine and that is okay.  You are amazing and what you are doing matters so much.  Keep going, keep smiling, and be kind to yourself.

Just look at how wonderful you are!

Kearns_-11

last but not least... this was taken at the beginning of the trip, when we were going the wrong way. we never would've gotten this picture if we'd gone the right way!

John Thomas blog-9

.

.

.

may 5 (1 of 1)

Did you enjoy this post?  Share it with a mom you love🙂

5 thoughts on “The Importance of Mothers

  1. K & T says:

    Awe, just beautiful! I was spoiled by breakfast in bed, a few pressies, the chance to serve and love mothers and their families in a low income/government housing area, a doze and read in the hammock, a delicious meal made by Tim, and lots of cuddles and kisses. Motherhood is not glamorous but vital to society. Praise Jesus that he is by our side every step of the way, through every tear and sleepless night, and through every laugh at the crazy things they say. Wait until yours start telling jokes….it’s painful and funny at the same time. Xoxox

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Vivien Hicks says:

    This is really beautiful Lindz, and I am sitting here in tears having read it, and remembering. Hope you have enjoyed your day, as have I, honoured by my wonderful offspring, and treated specially by the presence of Ron and Hilaire. Much love to you dear Granddaughter/ Mom! Grandma

    Liked by 1 person

  3. eldonhay says:

    Dear Lindsay, Just back from a trip to south west ON, especially Oxford County, and Ingersoll, Anne’s original home – a lovely part of Canada indeed.
    Thanks and appreciation for this fine piece of writing. blessings to you, dear Lindsay, and to all mothers…… Grampa and Anne

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

