Improvement + Creativity

Today I made a blog page for an old photography project called “The Most Important Thing.”  As I looked through the portraits I took, I was amazed at how much I have improved.  Back in 2012 I was proud of the photos I posted for the project.  But looking at it today I thought, “I can’t believe I thought these were good enough to share!  My portraits are so much better now!”  I’m really encouraged by this.  It shouldn’t come as a surprise – if you continually work at something for years and years, you are bound to get better.  But today I realized how far I have come, and how much I have learned – about how my camera works, lighting, posing, and editing, to name a few.

I’m still not 100% satisfied with most of the pictures I take.  It’s the perfectionist in me.  I want more.  I want to be better.  Quite honestly I want to be the best.  But that’s the thing with art – you can’t be the best.  You can only be YOUR best.  So I’m excited to keep learning, and keep improving.  I know that in four years time, I’ll probably look back on the photos I’m taking today and think, “Look how much I have improved since then!”

improvement collage

Can you see the difference??  Both of these shots were taken with the same camera and lens.

If you are just starting out with photography and feeling discouraged, or wishing you could be better – just keep at it!  You WILL get better if you stick with it.  I have taken one workshop in photography.  That is the only formal training I have – but I have read so much online and have just kept shooting.  I feel like I have so much to learn still – but now that makes me excited instead of apprehensive.

I have been learning lately to truly enjoy my creative pursuits, whether it be photography, music, or blogging.  It’s easy for me to get caught up in the comparison game.  I think, “I’m not as good as that person” or “This has already been done.”  But I have to go back to the real reason I create – it is because I love it.  It makes me feel good, and happy, to be creating and sharing my work with others.

My friend Sarah has been helping me with this.  I was so encouraged by her words:

Stop comparing yourself to others and remember the true reason why you are doing this.  Personally, I pursue this because it is my passion.  My focus is to create out of LOVE and NOT out of fear.

Here’s to creativity!

creativity blog pinterest buton

Creativity-takes-courage-Henri-Matisse-inspirational-quote

6 thoughts on “Improvement + Creativity

  1. verglo says:

    When it comes to living creatively, this is a big one for me:

    ‘To live a creative life, we must lose our fear of being wrong.’
    Joseph Chilton Pearce

    I’ve always thought your photographs are fabulous, and seeing the comparison you posted, you’re just growing in your fabulousness!😉

    Like

  2. Alina says:

    I’ve als loved your photography Lindsey, and it’s pretty amazing to see somethings that was already really good get better!

    Like

  3. Mary says:

    I loved your “Most Important Thing” project — I’d nearly forgotten about it! I think it’s so cool you’re re-organizing your blog like this, so that I can re-discover all this old favourites.

    Like

Leave a Reply

