Project 365: Completed!

On January 1st, 2014 I started my first Project 365: I took at least one photo every day and shared it with the world.  And yesterday, I finished!

As Shasta would say… “DID IT!”

I’m happy I did it.

I’m happy it’s over.

It was a commitment!  Sometimes it was easy to take a great picture, depending on what was happening that day – and sometimes I had to get creative.  Sometimes I skipped a day, but I always got back on track.

There were many times I considered giving up… but knowing that people were enjoying my photos helped me to keep going.  I particularly appreciate my Mom, Grandma V, Grandpa E, and my friend Mary for their constant supportive comments.  Also thank you to Nuni, Shasta and Sebastian for being amazing subjects even when you didn’t want to be.

A few thoughts:

1. Life goes by really fast.  Documenting the year like this made it seem to go by even faster.

2. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.  There were many times that I didn’t want to post a photo because I didn’t think it was good enough. But sometimes those were the photos that people loved!

3. I took a lot of photos of Shasta and it is really neat to see how he grew and changed throughout the year.

4. I absolutely love photography but I think I’ll slow down a bit in 2015.  I’ll still post lots of pictures of our family but I will also try to step back and enjoy the moment instead of capture it.  Last night when we went to see the fireworks, I was taking pictures with my iPod, and after a few seconds I realized that I hadn’t actually looked at the fireworks, I’d only seen them through a little screen.  This is happening more and more amongst my generation and I want to make sure I am actually living in the moment instead of just wanting to photograph it for the sake of sharing it with other people.

I have been working on this slideshow for the past week.  I didn’t include every photo that I took this year, because it would have been way too long, but all my favourites are there.  I hope you enjoy it.  Thank you so much for being a part of this journey.

I posted most of the photos on the blog, and you can find them by typing “Project 365” in my blog search bar.  I encourage you to do your own Project 365, especially if you are looking for a way to improve your photography.  You can use your phone or your camera, or a combination – it’s not the type of camera that matters, but the consistency of capturing a moment or two every day.  Feel free to comment with any questions and I’ll be happy to answer!

5 thoughts on “Project 365: Completed!

  1. Vivien Hicks says:

    And a Happy New Year to you all too dear! Looks a lot nicer there than here with snow falling- but softly! May 2015 be as exciting for you as this past one was, and safe and healthy. Much love, Grandma

    Like

    • eldonhay says:

      Congratulations on completing the year photos; they are a beautiful boon to all of us who love you and yours. Of many great photos, my personal favourite from the last batch – a smiling radiant Lindsay holding Sebastian Alfredo Muller! Blessings, dear ones, Grampa and Anne

      Like

  2. Helena McShane says:

    This is truly a treasure Lindsay! Thanks so much for sharing! I also
    relate to your comments about experiencing the moment- I am trying to do that to but also see the value in capturing the present for the future. We are so fortunate to have been given both the ability to recognize the beauty in a moment, and to have the means to record it with a good camera. I certainly look forward to seeing more of your little family growing and changing! Lots of love to you and Nuni, Shasta and Sebastien for a healthy, happy 2015. God Bless! Love, H.

    Like

Leave a Reply

