.

Having a Baby in Brazil

.

Our second son, Sebastian Alfredo, was born on October 23rd, 2014 at 11am in Florianópolis, Brazil, via C-section, weighing 4.5 kilograms.

.

.

 We had a pleasant two-day stay in the hospital, though I would’ve been lost without my Brazilian husband Nuni’s help.  He was with Sebastian and I almost the entire time, which was amazing because I needed nearly everything translated for me.  Out of all of the hospital staff I encountered(probably close to 40 different people), only one spoke English, but in my opinion it was the most important person – the anesthesiologist!  My biggest fear about the whole thing was that they would start the surgery before I was numb because the “can you feel this ice cube here?” question would get lost in translation.  It was nice to have someone ask ME in ENGLISH about how(or what) I was feeling.  Even though I couldn’t understand all of what was being said around me, the staff were very professional and confident, which helped put me at ease.  The C-section went well and it was over before I knew it.
Shasta meeting Sebastian for the first time

Shasta meeting Sebastian for the first time

Beijo! (Kiss)

Beijo! (Kiss)

     Shasta was in the room with his Vovó (Grandma) when we returned from surgery and he was excited, repeating, “Baby brudder!”  He didn’t stay long, but came back the next day for a visit.  He kissed Sebastian’s bassinet but then lost interest, as he was much more enthusiastic about the new cars an aunt brought for him.

.

On Saturday the 25th around noon we were discharged and went to Nuni’s mom’s house where we all(Nuni’s mom, dad, sister, nephew, and the four of us) gathered.  Shasta was really excited to see us and eager to free Sebastian from his car seat – he tried to undo the buckle, saying, “Let’s check it out”.  He then said he wanted to hold him, so we sat down on the couch and Shasta held him for a while(with help of course).  Here is a cute video that Nuni’s sister Carol took:
Sebastian's Vovô(Grandpa)

Sebastian’s Vovô(Grandpa)

Sebastian's Vovó(Grandma)

Sebastian’s Vovó(Grandma)

     Other than that though Shasta hasn’t paid him too much attention, although he does enjoy putting his diapers in the garbage.  I’m so excited to see them grow up and interact together.  I hope they’ll be really good buddies.
Yes, there were bribes involved in the making of this photo!

Yes, there were bribes involved in the making of this photo!

     The most challenging part of the first week was getting the hang of nursing.  When Shasta was born I attempted to breastfeed him, but was too quick to give up, and this time I was determined to try harder.  It is sure a tricky thing to master, at least at first!  After the third day things started to get quite a bit better and I feel that we’re doing well now, praise the Lord.  Sebastian also seemed to have his days and nights mixed up for a little while but I think we are turning that around now, thankfully!
     Here are some more photos from our first week and a bit.  I can see a lot of similarities with Shasta’s features as a newborn, but he also looks quite different.  I just love everything about him – his soft, feathery hair; smooth, delicate skin, and irresistible chubby cheeks.
     We are extremely grateful to Nuni’s Mom, Silvia, and sister, Maria Carol, who looked after Shasta for us.  Nuni’s Dad, Eugênio, also helped us immensely in many different ways.

.

.

.

.

.

Love his chubby cheeks!

Love his chubby cheeks!

.

1 week old

1 week old

.

.

.

Happy Hallowe'en from our little pumpkin!

Happy Hallowe’en from our little pumpkin!

Oh hey!

Oh hey!

So jolly

So jolly

My favourite!

My favourite!(photo, not child) 😉

There is much more I could say about giving birth in Brazil.  Contact me if you have any questions, I’d be more than happy to share what I know!

seba

10 thoughts on “Having a Baby in Brazil

  1. Helena McShane says:

    Congratulations, Lindsay, Nuni and Shasta! What a sweet little baby! Hoping all goes well with your recovery, Lindsay. Love and smooches, Helena and Maarten n

    Like

Leave a Reply

