Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins/Cake

Happy Thanksgiving to all my my Canadian people!🙂  Brazilians don’t celebrate Thanksgiving but that didn’t stop me from making a batch of my favourite pumpkin muffins – although since we don’t have muffin tins in the house it turned into a type of bread/cake… but really, the only difference is that the pan is easier to clean!  I thought I’d share the recipe with you here since it is a family favourite.  I got it from Kitchen Stewardship but I will post the recipe with any modifications that I usually make.

IMG_0117

Ingredients
  • ¾ cup honey(I used sugar but I will probably try it with 1 tsp-ish of stevia in the future for fun.  I have also used honey and it’s great)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1⅔ c. whole wheat flour
  • ½ c. melted butter or coconut oil (I used butter this time)
  • ¼ c. cold water
  • 1 c. pumpkin (which I chopped, baked and pureed all by myself!)
  • ½ t. cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves EACH (I did not use cloves this time as they were not ground and quite expensive)
  • ¼ t. baking powder
  • 1 t. baking soda
  • ¾ t. salt
  • 1 Tbs. molasses
  • Chocolate chips (or in my case a chopped dark chocolate bar!)
 Instructions
  1. Mix all ingredients together. Put in greased loaf pan or muffin tin. Bake at 325 degrees.
  2. Bread (one loaf) = 65-80 minutes 12 Muffins = 35-40 minutes 24 Mini muffins = 25 minutes

Sad to say it did not last long.  But of course that’s a good thing, too!

Enjoy your day with your family and friends!

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins/Cake

  1. K & T says:

    Hey Lindsay, I think I will try this recipe as I have some leftover puréed pumpkin. Instead of chopping the raw pumpkins just cut it and half and bake it until it’s soft, then scoop out of the skin! i used butternut squash this time🙂 made two pies, going to make some mini pies/tarts (just need to get the bases) and I have about a cup left for this recipe! Yum! No canned pumpkin in Australia either🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

