Atlin Arts and Music Festival 2014

Nuni and I just got back from a wonderful weekend in Atlin at the Music Festival.  It was such luck and a blessing that we were able to go.  We had been planning on going since the beginning of the year, arranging for Shasta to stay with his Godparents.  But at the beginning of June I found out that the tickets were all sold out.  I couldn’t believe it!  I felt annoyed at myself for not buying tickets sooner.  A few weeks later, I met a lady who told me I should join an email group called ArtsNet, because she had seen people selling their tickets on it.  So I did, and once in a while there were people selling, but I was never quick enough to claim them.  I’d pretty much given up hope, but on Thursday at 11:30am, there was another email for two tickets + a quiet camping spot.  I left a message the number provided and miraculously I was the first one he called back.  So we got them!

I was pretty apprehensive about leaving Shasta.  It was our first time both being away from him.  But I also knew that we wouldn’t get the opportunity to spend a weekend by ourselves again for a while, especially with our new addition coming in October.  So we went for it, and I’m very glad we did, even though there were a few anxiety filled moments… I just had to trust that he would be alright.  And he was.  I actually cried a little bit when I saw him again, out of happiness and relief that he was alive and well.  Thank you so much to everyone who helped look after him.

And now for the pictures!  Nuni asked me if I was excited to take pictures in Atlin and I thought, “What am I going to take pictures of if Shasta isn’t with us?!”  But I managed to find a few photo ops🙂  Surprise, surprise, eh??  I used my new Tamron 16-300mm lens the whole weekend.  I’m still learning about it but so far I really like how versatile it is for day-day shooting.

Be sure to check out last year’s Atlin pictures too!

One thought on “Atlin Arts and Music Festival 2014

Leave a Reply

