A Mother’s Day Tribute

“Making the decision to have a child – it is momentous. It is to decide forever to have your heart go walking around outside your body. ” ― Elizabeth Stone.

Nothing makes you appreciate your mother more than becoming a mother yourself.  I can’t tell you how many times in the last two years I have held my head in my hands, thinking, “Parenting is so, so difficult…” but then I try to remember, someone did it for me.  All of the getting up in the middle of the night, the rising and shining(or not) much earlier than desired, or dealing with the whining, kicking and screaming, the food dumped on the floor… someone had to deal with me doing the exact same things, and that someone is Susan Hay, my wonderful mother.

As we don’t generally remember our toddler years, we fail to ponder this aspect of mothering until we have to deal with it ourselves.  But I remember so many other things, like late evening heart to hearts, me crying about boys or what the future would hold, and Mom listening, patiently, telling me to take things one day at a time.  I remember her allowing me to make my own non life-threatening choices, like wearing a prom’s night worth of makeup every day of my teenage life, but also setting appropriate boundaries like not spending every waking moment with my boyfriend.  I remember a lot of wonderful food, activities, family time, and a safe, loving environment to grow up in.  I am thankful for the strong and healthy relationship she and my Dad have always had with each other, which provided a strong foundation for me and my brother, and an excellent example for my own marriage.

Now that I’m all grown up, I’m glad I can share the challenges and joys of life with her and know that she has been there too.  She always has time to listen and has the right words to say.  I am so thankful for the phone calls, emails, visits and trips we have together.   My only sadness is that we are not living in closer proximity.

My Mom is one of the easiest people in the world to talk to because she understands me and loves me.  I know exactly what will make her laugh and what she will think is adorable.  I have always called my mother my friend and I hope and pray I will have the same experience with my children.

Happy Mother’s Day Mom.  I don’t know half of everything you do and have done for me, but please know that I am so thankful.  I love you so much.

2003

2003

like mother, like daughter

like mother, like daughter

.

2009

2014

2014

5 thoughts on “A Mother’s Day Tribute

  1. eldonhay says:

    Dear Lindsay,

    Thanks for this fine tribute to Susan and Keith. Very poetic and graphic and moving; of course the photos are fantastic! Blessings, dear one, to you, your loved ones,

    Grampa

    On Sun, May 11, 2014 at 12:03 AM, Lindsay Land

    Like

  2. Pingback: To My Dad

Leave a Reply

