35/365: “Heartwarming”

On the way to work this morning I drove past the open marshy area just as you leave town.  I have driven past this spot hundreds and hundreds of times, and every single time I look into it, #1 because it’s beautiful and #2 because I hope to see some wildlife.  I have seen moose there twice, and you just never know when one is going to pop up again.  Well, today was my lucky day!!  As I drove, I looked over my shoulder, over the snowbanks, and there was a dark figure standing in the middle of it all.  I immediately pulled over and very quickly put on my zoom lens(70-300mm).  I felt SO proud of myself for bringing all of my camera gear with me.  I’ve been doing that the last few days, mostly for this project, ’cause you just never know what’s gonna happen!  I spent about ten-fifteen minutes out in the FREEZING cold(-25 or something like that) shooting these beautiful creatures.  It was before sunrise and still pretty dark, so I shot with a very high ISO.

Nikon D300s || 125mm || ISO 2500 || f 4.8 || 1/400

Nikon D300s || 125mm || ISO 2500 || f 4.8 || 1/400

Nikon D300s || 280 mm || ISO 2500(it was before sunrise so still pretty dark) || f 5.6 || 1/250

Nikon D300s || 280 mm || ISO 2500 || f 5.6 || 1/250

Nikon D300s || 180mm ISO 2500 || f 5 || 1/250

Nikon D300s || 180mm ISO 2500 || f 5 || 1/250

I’d say it’s pretty heartwarming to see a mom and baby moose out in the wilderness.  But not quite as heartwarming as this:

yeah.  pretty sweet.

yeah. pretty sweet.

 

One thought on “35/365: “Heartwarming”

Leave a Reply

