31/365 and something different for Feb

The lovely Olivia came over to play this morning!

Nikon D300s || 40mm || ISO 1250 || f 2.8 || 1/60

Nikon D300s || 40mm || ISO 1250 || f 2.8 || 1/60

Something else I learned last year was to make use of the focus-point-selector button.  I think I was using my camera for a year or more without knowing what this was.

it's this!

it’s this!  although I usually use the middle one, I don’t really know the difference between them

inside the camera there is a little red box you can move around to select where you want your focus to be

inside the camera there is a little red box you can move around to select where you want your focus to be (image courtesy of Google)

So as you can see, I moved that box to Olivia’s bowl and voila, it worked.  I also use the “auto-focus” option(the white square) a lot for when I’m taking pictures of Shasta because he’s just so darn fast.  Usually I’ll use the auto focus mode and then if I have time or can predict where he’s going, I’ll switch to the little red box option.  Don’t you love how technical I am?🙂

And now for something completely different…

For February, I’ve decided to do Capture Your 365’s Photo Challenge!  On one hand I like taking pictures of “whatever” but on the other I sometimes panic a bit about what I’m going to shoot – if I leave things up to myself I can shoot the same things over and over.  Using prompts helps me to think outside the box and focus on different aspects of photography.  Probably by the end of Feb I’ll be looking forward to shooting freestyle again.  It’s always good to change things up, right?  Here’s the list… play along if you want!

February-CY365-Photo-Challenge-List-2014Let me know if you’re going to play so I can follow you too!

 

2 thoughts on “31/365 and something different for Feb

Leave a Reply

