28/365

To make this 365 Project slightly more educational for all of us, I’m going to list the specs at the bottom of each photo, and occasionally I will explain the thought process of choosing these settings.  (see below)

I took this photo when I got home from work today.  This idea kind of happened by accident; after taking our bags inside I returned to the car to pick up this little bundle, and decided to snap a picture of him first.  When I reviewed the image on the back of the camera I realized that I could see my reflection in the window and I decided to work with that.  I don’t think it’s the most amazing image ever but it is quite cute if I do say so myself.🙂

365.jan28 (1 of 1)

Nikon D300s || ISO: 640 || 40mm lens || f 3.5 || 1/80 sec

ISO: I tend to shoot at higher ISOs at this time of year because there just isn’t that much light.  I definitely get more grain, but I’m okay with that if it means my image isn’t blurry.

Fstop: Normally I shoot on the aperture priority setting, and I almost always shoot with a low f number to let in more light and create that blurry background.  Eventually I’d like to go full manual but more often than not I’m taking pictures of moving objects and one doesn’t always have time to get the settings right!  One day… one day.

Lens: The 40mm f/2.8 macro lens is my newest one and I am using it almost exclusively right now just to see what it’s capable of.  I love that it takes great “non close-up” pics as well.

Shutter Speed: As mentioned above, I shot this on Aperture priority so I didn’t choose the shutter speed.

Some of you will know what I’m talking about; others may not have a clue, and that is okay!  If you have any questions feel free to ask, or do a little research… OR on the flip side of that, if you have any pointers or tips for me, they are also welcome!

And sorry Mom, that’s the only photo I got of him today🙂

3 thoughts on “28/365

Leave a Reply

