Top 13 Songs of 2013

Here’s a list of songs I discovered and fell in love with this year:

1. Virginia Moon: Foo Fighters – just lovely harmonies here.

2. Que Beleza: Tim Maia (Que Beleza means How Beautiful)

3. Baby, Baby: Rose Murphy – sang this one to Shasta a lot!  I love Rose Murphy and I’m so glad I found her!

4. So True: The Black Seeds – such a chill, easygoing song.

5. I Need Thee: Sam Robson – just can’t get over this guy.  Love it!

6. Novos Olhos: Reis Do Nada – friends of ours!  Love them and their music so much.

7. Something More: Irie Souls – Nuni and I listened to this one and the next SO many times.  Probably our most listened to songs of the year.

8. Roots and Culture: Irie Souls

9. Do I Do: Stevie Wonder (I know, not a new song, but it was new to me and I absolutely LOVE it)

10. Sittin’ in the Middle: Raul Midon

11. Sunshine: Raul Midon

12. Sisters: The Lacks –> I got to meet these wonderful people in the summer when they passed through Watson Lake!  Such a wonderful experience!

13. Take My Love: Dominic Balli

Hope you enjoy!  I’d love to know what songs you discovered this year!

4 thoughts on “Top 13 Songs of 2013

  1. K & T says:

    I had no idea you were so into raggae/groovy/r&b kinda music – you should get into some kiwi bands. That irie souls stuff, hmm… feels like I should light some candles and have it playing when Kathryn gets home later tonight… haha!

    You’ve got me thinking now: Mumford & Sons, For Those Below was my favourite song of 2013. I suspect you’ll love it too, cause it’s just one big beautiful harmony. Hey, if we ever end up in the same place again, how about we sing it together? I’ve got the guitar part down but I can’t harmonize with myself (I try).

    Another artist I’ve enjoyed so much is David Myles, this is one of my favourites:

    Ray Lamontagne is who I want to be when I grow up, beard and all. This song or Shelter are a toss-up:

    And before I get carried away I’ll pick one oldie that I have absolutely loved this year, played it so many times on my way to/from the rig while working up north:

    Great idea Lindsay, thanks for bringing good music into my life😀

    Tim

    Like

    • Lindsay says:

      Tim, thank you so much for these. Actually I discovered David Myles this year too, that was one I forgot to mention! He is awesome.

      Regarding reggae, Nuni definitely brought it into my life! We absolutely love Katchafire and Fat Freddy’s Drop. Are there others you recommend?

      I’m gonna listen to your songs now! Thanks! I love finding new music!

      And yes, I’ll take any chance to harmonize, so if we ever do end up in the same place, let’s go for it! Happy New Year Cross family!

      Like

Leave a Reply

