OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I Love Me: Becoming Self Confident

i lov eme

I want to tell you about how I kept my 2013 New Year’s Resolution.

I’m not trying to brag – I just want to share what I learned with you because a lot of people need a little more

self love4

I made one goal at the beginning of 2013: to love myself more.

“I’m pretty sure that most people, especially most female people, have issues with self-esteem.  It’s not that I have a terribly low self-esteem – I’m generally pretty comfortable with the way I look.  But not totally.  And that is what I want to change this year.” (full post here)

About halfway through the year I gave an update:

“I feel like I’ve made progress: I no longer worry about losing weight, or wish I was skinnier – whenever one of those thoughts creeps into my mind, I just tell it, “no, that’s not true, I am beautiful just the way I am.”  The more I tell myself, the less I think those thoughts.  There is power in positive thinking!  I’m also believing more and more that true beauty comes from inside.  I know so many BEAUTIFUL, wonderful women who might not make the cover of Cosmo, but I don’t love them any less because of that. (not that the women on the cover of Cosmo are real anyways!)  I have to believe, and I do believe, that people view me the same way – I’m awesome because of who I am, not because of what I look like.” (full post here)

And here we are, at the end of the year.  I am currently winning the battle with self-esteem and self-love, and I can’t tell you how happy that makes me.

I saw a lot of “be kind to yourself” types of messages on the internet this year which further encouraged me on my journey to loving myself.  Here are a few examples:

self love

.

self love 1

.

.

.

Here are a few things that helped me love myself and be happy with the way I look:

1. Knowing that confidence is attractive.  If you don’t have it, fake it.  Who’ll know the difference?  Walk with your shoulders back.  Act like you don’t give a crap about what anyone thinks.  It might even become genuine.

2. Taking care of yourself.  We have to fight this self love battle(among many others) every day.  If you want to win, you have to make sure you are strong, healthy and well rested.

3. When a negative thought comes into your mind, rebuke it and replace it with a positive one.

Example:

Me:  “Ugh.  I look so horrible in that picture.  Why do I always have raccoon eyes?  Is that how I really look?  I look so fat.  I shouldn’t have too much sugar today.”

Myself: “You know what?  NO!  You are the only one who thinks that.  I am beautiful, and no one else cares or probably even notices that.”

The more I practiced this, the easier it became and I started to accept it.

4. Eating well.  This year I started drinking green smoothies every morning.  After reading Kimberley Snyder’s book “The Beauty Detox Solution” I learned that what we eat really impacts the aging process and how “beautiful” we are.  F&V, particularly leafy greens, are the most important things to eat to get our vitamins, nutrients and all that good stuff.  Eating right is the biggest contribution I can make to the way I look.  (I hope that doesn’t come across badly – I tried to focus on the health rather than the beauty aspect)  Knowing I was consuming greens every day helped me not to worry as much about what I ate throughout the rest of the day.  Even if I didn’t eat any other fruit or vegetable, at least I drank my smoothie in the morning.

5. Knowing that the people in your life won’t love you less because of how beautiful you are, and if they do they’re not the kind of person you really want to be friends with, are they?

6. Remembering that you are so much more than your body.  As C.S. Lewis put it, “You do not have a soul.  You are a soul.  You have a body.”  You are funny, you are kind, you are caring, you are making a contribution to this world.  Let the beauty of WHO you are shine through, and that will become much more noticeable to people than the way you look.

7. Keeping things in perspective.  Not looking like a supermodel is not a problem.  People dying of AIDS is a problem.  Try not to feel too sorry for yourself.  There are more important things to think about.

I want more love in the world and loving yourself is right up there with loving your neighbour.  How can you love your neighbour as yourself when you don’t love yourself?

I like this.

I like this.

just do it.

just do it.

Here’s to loving yourself in 2014 and beyond!

4 thoughts on “I Love Me: Becoming Self Confident

  1. K & T says:

    Haha, I feel it. Sometimes I’ve wondered: if I was suddenly in another body, would I still be me? Of course I would be. Therefore, how important is my appearance, or any of my physical traits? Not very!

    Glad to hear that it is possible for women to develop an attitude like yours toward themselves. I hope you inspire many others!

    Tim

    Like

Leave a Reply

