Floripa: um dia de amor e felicidade (a day of love and happiness)

Today Nuni asked me if I’d like to go on a little adventure with him around the island, just the two of us.  He arranged for Shasta to be taken care of by his mom, Silvia, and so off we went.  It was such a beautiful day, warm, but not too warm – sunny, a little windy… perfeito.  We went to a few different spots, ate lunch on a huge rock by the ocean, saw some ancient drawings… well, I’ll let you see for yourself here.  I’m so glad I brought my cameras to document because I never want to forget this day!

Lagoa!  I love Lagoa!

Lagoa! I love Lagoa!

.

.

.

.

coruja

coruja – lots of street art and mosaics in Lagoa.

Nuni waiting on the docks, just like he did 5 years ago...

Nuni waiting on the docks, just like he did 5 years ago…

foi um dia fantastico :)

foi um dia fantastico🙂

to Joaquina for a picnic on the rocks :)

to Joaquina for a picnic on the rocks🙂

happiness

feliz

.

.

Nuni and I discussing the art of taking a selfie so that it looks like you're not actually taking a selfie.

Nuni and I discussing the art of taking a selfie so that it looks like you’re not actually taking a selfie.

yaaaaay Jesus!

yaaaaay Jesus!

ancient drawings

ancient drawings

.

.

Santo Antonio... a lovely neighbourhood with some older Portuguese architecture.  Apparently a lot of the island used to look like this back in the day.

Santo Antonio… a lovely neighbourhood with some older Portuguese architecture. Apparently a lot of the island used to look like this back in the day.

.

.

gatinha

gatinha

.

.

.

.

.

.

3 thoughts on “Floripa: um dia de amor e felicidade (a day of love and happiness)

  1. mary says:

    (1) This has got to be the most beautiful island in the world (2) That chair with the cat is amazing! I have a friend who is an amazing artist, I’m going to try to persuade that we should do this as a project some time.

    Like

  2. mary says:

    Update: we found a chair, but instead of a cat we are going to do a bird’s nest? I guess it works! Except then we were reading “Horton Hatches An Egg”, so the bird’s nest will be filled with elephant-bird-chicks. We’ve drawn the outlines in pencil, and we will paint it as soon as we have paints.

    Like

Leave a Reply

