Green Smoothies

I’d like to introduce you to my breakfast: the Glowing Green Smoothie!  It’s a recipe that I got from the book “The Beauty Detox Solution” by Kimberley Snyder.  It’s a really good book about the best way to eat for your health and beauty(according to the author, of course), like eating fruits and veggies before your meals and not after, not combining starches with proteins, things like that.  Honestly I am not ready to follow her diet exactly the way she does it(she is hardcore into f&v and not too much else), but I have been enjoying this smoothie every morning for the last several months.  Lately Shasta has been wanting to try it so today I gave him his own glass and this is what happened:

.

 

I love it because it is just jam packed with fruits and veggies, and it’s good to know that I’ve had that right first thing in the morning, so even if I don’t have any other f&v throughout the day, at least I’ve had this.  Here’s how I make it:

2 c. water 

1/2 bag of baby spinach

chopped romaine lettuce

fresh mint (from my garden… when I don’t have fresh mint anymore I will omit this)

——-> basically just put as much green stuff in there as you can fit.  After you blend this up, there will be more room for everything else.

then add:

1 chopped pear

1 chopped apple

2 stalks chopped celery

blend it up, then:

1 chopped banana

juice of one lime

blend that, and then you’re done!  I get three big smoothies out of this, which I pour in mason jars for later on in the morning or for the next day.  I usually drink one or two glasses in the morning.  It doesn’t keep me full all morning though so I usually have a homemade granola bar later on.

For more info on the Beauty Detox Solution and the green smoothie go here.

Happy blending!🙂

3 thoughts on “Green Smoothies

Leave a Reply

