An Extreme Evening

Last night was one of those wonderful unexpected evenings… I happened to run into my friend Ruth at the store and she asked me if I was going to the music at the gazebo.  I hadn’t heard of it but I’m always up for music at the gazebo so I picked up Shasta from daycare and went right over.   I was hoping he wouldn’t be too fussy and that I’d be at least able to catch the sound check.  As soon as I arrived I noticed a lady with a baby who looked the same age as Shasta.  I sat down with her and we chatted for about half an hour until she had to get ready to play.  Her name was Deborah and her daughter’s name is Juniper, who is 14 months old.  She is part of a band called The Lacks which consists of Deborah, her mother, father, and two sisters.  Deborah was telling me about their lives, which were really quite extraordinary… for the past five years they have been touring across the States, Canada, Mexico… and they are about to go to Japan.  They perform for free everywhere they go and they just depend on God to provide for them to get to the next city.  I just listened in awe and started to get that “God is so awesome” feeling.  This year they are part of a Christian touring group called “The Extreme Tour” and so there were four other bands who performed after them.  Each band was very, very good.  They had a lot of audience participation – dance offs, awards, birthday songs… there were a lot of people who showed up which was pretty amazing since there wasn’t very much advertising or advanced notice.  It was a beautiful evening and everyone just sat on the hill in the sun, enjoying the music.

Amazingly Shasta was fine throughout the entire concert and ended up falling asleep in his favourite grocery store cashier’s arms.  It was very sweet and I think she loved it.  I got a chance to chat with Deborah afterwards and buy a beautiful pendant from her – she makes her own jewellery (Aull of the Above).  I asked if I could take some photos of her because she is just so gorgeous, inside and out, and she agreed, and then we took a couple of her lovely daughter.  I invited them to come over after because they were staying just two doors down from our house.

At 11:30 I was just getting into bed when I heard a knock on our door, and I knew it had to be them.  Deborah and her sister Sarah came in and chatted with us for a while and we started talking about music and Nuni pulled out the guitar.  We sang a couple of our own songs and they loved them.  They called their Dad and he came over with Deborah’s husband.  We chatted and played the songs again and they stayed until about 1am!  It was so incredibly inspiring to hear their stories of adventure and God’s constant provision in their lives.

I went to bed feeling very refreshed and excited about life.  Our God is truly amazing and I can’t wait to see what He does through this amazing family.

Here are some pictures from the evening:

The Lacks

The Lacks

.

.

.

.

.

.

dance off!

dance off!

Shasta and Bailey

Shasta and Bailey

little Juniper

little Juniper

.

.

.

.

the beautiful deborah

the beautiful deborah

.

.

.

.

how sweet is this?

how sweet is this?

.

God is good.

 

3 thoughts on “An Extreme Evening

Leave a Reply

