Honey Whole Wheat Bread

It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything about food, so I thought I’d share my favourite(and only) bread recipe with you.  I received it from my wonderful friend Criss who is one of my food-making idols.  I actually went to her house once and asked her to show me how to make it because I was sure I would mess it up.  Truth is, something like this just takes practice.  I did kind of mess it up the first time I tried it – I didn’t let the dough rise long enough so the loaves were pretty short and dense.  But Nuni said he liked it so I tried it again, this time letting the dough rise longer, and they were awesome!  So now every couple of weeks I make a huge batch of dough, enough for 4 loaves, and then I freeze it.  It freezes really, really well. All I need now is a bigger freezer so I can make more loaves at once!

So here’s the recipe Criss gave me, along with some of my own commentary:

Honey Whole Wheat Bread

Makes 2 loaves

Combine:

3 c. whole wheat flour

1/2 c. non fat dry milk powder(optional, though I recommend it)

1 T. salt

2 T yeast

Heat until warm:

3 c. water

1/2 c. honey

Add liquid to flour and beat 3 minutes(I use a wooden spoon).  Stir in 1-2 c. whole wheat flour and 1 c. white flour(or whole wheat if you don’t have white).  Have some extra flour on hand to add in as needed.  Stir it all up and when it becomes doughy, start to knead.  Knead for 10 minutes.  You get bread AND a work out!

Leave the dough in the bowl and cover with a towel.  Check on it an hour later, and if it has doubled in size, you’re ready for the next step.  If not, leave it a bit longer(half hour or so).  When it’s ready, punch it down(the best part!) and divide it into two loaves.  Place these loaves into loaf pans and poke each three times with a fork to let air escape.

Cover again and let rise for another hour-hour and a half.  If the dough starts to fall over the edges, you’ve left it too long, get it in the oven ASAP!

Bake at 350 for 35ish minutes or until the bottom sounds hollow when tapped and they are nicely browned.

Let them cool out of the pan on wire racks, and enjoy!  If it doesn’t work the first time, don’t get discouraged!  If I can do it, you can do it!  Good luck!

.

.

.

.

5 thoughts on “Honey Whole Wheat Bread

  1. Mary says:

    re: yeast, my Mom told me that you can get away with not proofing if your yeast is fairly new — if your yeast has been sitting at the back of the fridge for months, on the other hand, then you definitely need to proof.

    And speaking of stuff my Mom does, this looks like an excellent recipe to try making cinnamon bread with: you roll the dough out into a rectangle and spread butter, sugar and cinnamon over the surface, and then roll it up just as if you were making cinnamon buns, but instead of slicing off rounds, you just tuck the ends under and put it like that in the loaf pan. Every slice has a cinnamon-y spiral.

    Don’t know if I’ve said it before, but your food-photography is amazing. I can almost smell the delicious bread.

    Like

  2. K & T says:

    Just wanted to let you know I made this today and its delish! Used instant yeast as that was all I had, had to use heaps more flour…like two or three cups but it turned out yummy! Have to stop myself from eating the whole loaf. I used part whole wheat and part white and the whole wheat flour here is really coarse.

    Like

Leave a Reply

