the time I flew in a helicopter

As I mentioned briefly in my last post, I had the TOTALLY AWESOME opportunity of taking pictures in a helicopter yesterday!  The annual Watson Lake Outdoor Bonspiel took place this weekend, and one of the helicopter pilots in town thought it would be neat to get a picture of the action from above.  He asked my friend Meaghen if she knew any photographers who’d be interested; she told me about it, and I jumped at the chance.  Flying in a helicopter is something I’ve always wanted to do, and combining that with photography – well, you can imagine my excitement.

I took a LOT of photos, but here are a few of my favourites.

here we go!

here we go! (okay, I didn’t take this one)

you are now entering Watson Lake

you are now entering Watson Lake

Bonspiel on Wye Lake

Bonspiel on Wye Lake

Bonspiel on Wye Lake

Bonspiel on Wye Lake

Bonspiel on Wye Lake

Bonspiel on Wye Lake

On our way to the ski hill

On our way to the ski hill – Watson LAKE on the left

Mt. Maichen Ski Hill - Nuni and I got married in the chalet down there!

Mt. Maichen Ski Hill – Nuni and I got married in the chalet down there!

"the face"

“the face”

.

.

I absolutely LOVED every moment!  It went by so fast.  Steve, the pilot, took my door off so I wouldn’t have to shoot through the plexi-glass.  It was pretty cold, my hands especially, but I really didn’t care because I was having so much fun.  I would go again in a heartbeat (here’s hoping)!

3 thoughts on “the time I flew in a helicopter

Leave a Reply

