life is short. eat a brownie.

heaven... I'm in heaven...

heaven… I’m in heaven…

Especially if it is a HEALTHY brownie!  Last night I made my favourite brownie recipe, which features black beans as its main ingredient.  This time, though, I decided to do something a tad differently: I used a bit of mashed avocado in place of half of the butter.  There’s not really much butter to begin with, so I thought it would be safe to try.  And friends, it WORKED!  Honestly, they are the best batch I have EVER made, by far(to be fair, I’m not 100% sure it’s due to the avocado, but it’s the only thing I changed, so… I’m going with it).  They are actually holding together, whereas usually they’re kind of crumbly and you need a fork to eat them.  But not this time.  It’s just so exciting, because if you make the right substitutions, this has the potential to be a really healthy dessert.  Here’s what I would do to make it as healthy as possible:

1 can black beans (15oz.) rinsed and drained

3 eggs

1/6 cup butter

1/6 cup mashed avocado

1/4 cup cocoa powder

dash of salt

2 tsp. vanilla

3/4 cup honey

1/2 semi-sweet chocolate chips(optional… but I really like them)

1/3 cup chopped walnuts(optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Blend in food processor first seven ingredients.  Pour into greased 8×8″ pan and stir in chips and nuts.  Bake for 35-40 minutes.  Serve with raspberries or strawberries for ultimate healthiness and deliciousness!

—–

I just found this on pinterest, and thought I’d pass it along:

.

One thought on “life is short. eat a brownie.

Leave a Reply

