selfies.

self baby3

I had a bit of fun tonight before Shasta went to bed.  I realized that we have a blank white wall in our bedroom, and I thought I’d try to do some self portraits against it.  Unfortunately, there wasn’t nearly enough light, so I gave up on that idea – and then I saw the mirror and thought that it might work.  And it did!  It’s definitely tricky to get the focus and lighting right.  I took a LOT of shots.  But I got a few that I’m pleased with.

.

It helps that I have the cutest baby in the world.

.

.

I’ve actually been reading a lot about self portraits lately, so I guess that inspired me a little.  I found a couple of great “selfie” blogs:

Selfie Magic

Alex Beadon Photography

Click it up a notch

Even CBC radio had a debate on the selfie, which got me even more interested in exploring the technique.  Getting a picture of yourself that you are actually happy with is a challenge, especially when you have to take it yourself and you can’t see what’s going on on the other side of the camera!

The creator of Selfie Magic is a model who has a lot of tips on getting a good self portrait.  One of my favourite tips so far – and don’t laugh – is “model eyes,” where you squint just a little.  She posted a video of how to do it, which was really helpful.  So I’ve been practicing.  I’ve never thought of doing this to make my self portraits more interesting, but it really does work.  It’s a good thing that I’m the one taking the photos, because with anyone else I TOTALLY crack up.  I remember when I was having maternity shots done by Daren Gallo, he told me to do an “intense” look and I burst out laughing every time I tried.  I was hopeless.  I am always afraid I’m going to look totally ridiculous.  But… I am sort of ridiculous, so it’s okay.

So people.  I am now going to reveal to you my “model eyes” selfie.  Drumroll, please…

.

There you have it.  I think this little experiment is helping me with my New Year’s Resolution, to love myself more and be happy with the way that I am.  Yay me!

Also I just wanted to say thank you for reading my posts, and being a part of my photography/life journey.  It means so much to be able to share it with you, whether you are a family member, friend or total stranger.  I appreciate you!

9 thoughts on “selfies.

  1. Holly Edmonds says:

    You look stunning in this shot Lindsay!!! I tried to do Selfie Magic’s ‘arm’s length selfie’ but it failed miserably. It is so hard to take a good picture when you don’t know what the camera is looking at! P.S. the shots of you and Shasta are sooo lovely.🙂

    Like

  2. Mary says:

    I like how the squinty model eyes make it look as if the person is thinking — you almost get nervous looking at it because you wonder what the person is planning🙂

    Like

  3. Lesley says:

    I love this post. You and your baby are so cute! And your photos are beautiful! I’m assuming you have a digital SLR, right? “Selfies” are something I need to work on so I’m gonna check out your links🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

