Our Hallowe’en

Our Hallowe’en festivities began on Saturday when we went to a friend’s family party.  I had been very excited to dress up for Hallowe’en this year because I thought of the best costume idea ever:

how to get your husband to dress up for Hallowe’en

We had a very nice time at the party.  It was great seeing all of the other kids and babies in their costumes.

For a few weeks I had been thinking about alternatives to handing out candy, because I feel like kids already have too much sugar these days… but there weren’t a ton of other options, especially here in Watson Lake.  I thought about baking something, but then parents might be wary about what’s in it.  Also I didn’t have time to bake a bunch of stuff.  So I caved and bought a box of little Hallowe’en sized chocolate bars.  I made sure to buy Reese’s because they are my FAVOURITE and I figured it wouldn’t be the end of the world if we had some left over.   So then Hallowe’en night rolled around and I put the candy in a bowl by the door.  Guess how many kids we had?  NONE!  Bah.  Next time I’m not going to open the box before we get the first visitors!

Here’s a few more pictures for your enjoyment:

it’s hard for me to say which one is cuter!

the Nunis have arrived

 

my little pumpkin

5 thoughts on “Our Hallowe’en

  1. Emily says:

    Remember the time in Sackville when we bought the Halloween candy & only 7 kids came? I don’t think I’ve attempted to buy and hand out candy since…

    Like

  2. Mary says:

    Admittedly, I think in Sackville, it was the fault of those football players who lived down the street. Sometimes I hear about people getting over a hundred kids a night, but I’ve never lived in that kind of neighbourhood — certainly not in Quebec, where the whole thing has apparently only caught on with francophones in the past ten or twenty years.

    PS. Lins, this costume idea is in fact brilliant! But I hope you made him promise that next year he has to dress up as you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

