Shasta: Week Two

Shasta is two weeks old today!  We’ve had a really good week overall.  Nuni went back to work on Monday, which was just fine.  Every day was a little bit different – but I quickly learned that naps are super valuable, and I tried to have one in the morning or the afternoon, depending on what the little man was up to.  We went to church together for the first time, and also to the grocery store!  It’s amazing how much more preparation it takes to go somewhere!  I’m sure we’ll get used to it though.

He’s actually sleeping really well… last night he slept for five hours straight!  Amazing!  Generally he wakes up every three-four hours in the night which I don’t think is that bad at all.  He sleeps on and off through the day, it’s just finding the right moment to lie down at the same time, hoping he won’t wake up!

I think I experienced some form of baby blues during the beginning of the week, but some extra sleep and chats with wonderful friends fixed it pretty quick.  I feel much better now, and am beginning to feel more myself… giving birth really does take a toll on your body and soul(hormones).  I am trying not to be too self-critical about my body – it would be so nice if everything just popped back into place, and I was back to my normal self.  Fortunately my feet are no longer monster-feet(for about a week it looked as if I was turning into Princess Fiona… the green one) and I no longer look pregnant(as two lovely people had pointed out to me), just have a little ponch.  Anyways, the main thing is that I am healthy, feeling very good physically, my incision is healing nicely… I have to focus on these blessings!  It’s amazing how much easier it is to focus on the negative things…

But enough about me, here are my favourite pictures from the week!

Thanks to Bruce for taking this picture – he’s getting chubby, don’t you think? He’s surpassed his birth weight now, on Friday he was 9lbs 14oz. And for those who know my brother, don’t you see a bit of a resemblance?

my happy place :). also please notice his adorable diapers – the g is for “goodjums” (in my books) (check out gdiapers.com)

his first time on the playmat! He’s getting good at lifting his head and turning it from one side to the other(I know, soon he’ll be on all the reality talent shows)

Daddy is doing a fantastic job 🙂

isn’t he just so sweet?

hanging out with Sonia, his godmother, who tries to get him to smile…

…and succeeds! I know babies aren’t supposed to smile until 2 months of age, but come on… this looks like a real smile to me!

See you next week! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Shasta: Week Two

  1. Kathryn says:

    It’s lovely to hear an update Lindsay, it sounds like you’re adjusting well. I’m so glad you have the support you need during this transition time. I know how tough it is, especially when you don’t necessarily like what you see when you look in the mirror and it seems like a huge task to get out of the house for milk. You will get more confident in getting out especially if you accept that there are no more quick trips to the store anymore 🙂 sorry I haven’t responded to your e mail yet, I will soon. If you ever feel isolated or alone make sure you call a friend or get out of the house, it can do a world of good just talking to another adult. If you feel like it’s more serious then please seek professional help, it’s a lot more common than you think. Thanks for sharing friend, you’re surrounded by handsome men:)

    Like

  2. Gabrielle Marsay says:

    wooohoooo!!!! what a BEAUTIFUL life!! and what a LOVELY boy!! these photos are stunning guys!!thank you Linds for keeping us in the loop….its second best to actually being there with you..thank you! know i think about you guys SOOO much.. all my LOVE gabs

    Like

Leave a Reply

