Lucky

One of the things I enjoy about wandering around Whitehorse is receiving comments about my belly from strangers.  I’ve had some really sweet ones and also some funny/interesting ones.  Today as I walked into a lovely store called Aroma Borealis with my doula Jessica, I passed a little girl of about eight.  I smiled at her and said hello, and she responded with a very innocent, “Are you pregnant?” The thought that there would be a speck of doubt in anyone’s mind makes me chuckle to myself.  “I sure am!”  I replied.  To which she said, “You’re lucky.”  “Yeah, I guess I am!” I said.  I spent some time tonight trying to figure out what she meant by her statement, and I’m pretty stumped.  That doesn’t really matter, however, because she’s right, in whatever way she meant it.

I am lucky to be pregnant.  Now that my due date has come and gone and I’ve been away from home for two and a half weeks, I have to make a bit more of an effort to be positive about the whole experience.  I can say with 100% confidence that I am ready.  I am ready to go into labour, I am ready to become a mother, I am ready to not be pregnant any more!  It has been a wonderful experience, but nine months is a long time.  I’m ready to be done.  Especially when I have an annoying knot in my back that just won’t go away!

But I’m lucky, I really am.  There are plenty of women who would like to be pregnant and are not able to.  I don’t know why that happens.  It often seems super unfair.  But that’s just how it is, and there’s nothing I can do about it, except be grateful that I have this opportunity to bring a brand new person into the world.  Wow.  Every time I think about it I’m just blown away.  I know it’s something that happens every day, and it’s been happening since the beginning of time, but… it truly is a miracle.

I can’t wait to share this next adventure with you all, my friends, family and random people from the internet.  It’s an exciting time, even though these last few days can seem like an eternity.  It won’t be long now before my life is changed forever, and I will try my best to be patient and to remember that I’m “lucky” – though I’m more inclined to use the word BLESSED.

4 thoughts on “Lucky

  1. K & T says:

    This is so exciting! I hope you’ve had the babe now (or are in labour). You are blessed and I need to remember that I am too, especially when the tough days seem never ending. I have 2 beautiful and healthy girls, I’m lucky!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

