food, glorious food

I have been having a little bit too much fun lately with food!  Specifically desserts… what else is new, eh?  With Nuni being on his special diet, I’ve been experimenting with flourless and dairy free desserts, using as much natural sweetener as possible.  I have three items to share with you…

1. On Thursday Evening our church held a dessert auction fundraiser for the Summer Bible Camp.  I was so excited about it, as you can imagine!  I decided to make the Silky Chocolate Pie, and decorate it like so:

Image

I came up with the decoration all by myself, which I was quite proud of, considering I find so many ideas on Pinterest these days!  Isn’t it so pretty??  The only shame is that I didn’t get to eat any of it.

2. I have been making lots of the peppermint coconut bark, but yesterday I decided to get a little creative and try something different.  I omitted the peppermint, added 1/4 c. of natural peanut butter, replaced some of the coconut with sunflower seeds, and voila!  I had homemade Reese-y type treats.  They may even be better than the original peppermint bark, depending on your mood…

3. One of my exciting Pinterest finds has been the “Easy Chocolate Mousse.”  It uses the same kind of tofu as the silky chocolate pie, which I had an extra block of, so I made it the other day and it was a huge hit with Nuni.  We ate it while watching a Frasier episode and while I had mine finished pretty quickly, Nuni was taking his sweet time.  I looked over at him and he said, “I’m eating it slowly because I don’t want it to end!”  We mixed it with strawberries, blueberries and banana and it was a very nice treat.  I think I’ll share the recipe in a separate post so that I can add it to my blog recipe collection.  But here’s the link in the meantime: http://jeanetteshealthyliving.com/2012/05/easy-chocolate-mousse.html

What have you been experimenting with lately?

3 thoughts on “food, glorious food

  1. Mary says:

    I think it’s great how inventive you are, playing around with recipes like this. Looking at your pictures makes my mouth water…

    Like

Leave a Reply

