bringing up bébé and making yogurt cake

I’ve been reading this fabulous book over the last couple weeks that was lent to me by my new friend Erica.  If you have kids or plan to one day, I highly recommend it.  I’m so glad I’m reading it now, before our baby is born.  The author, Pamela, discovers while living in Paris that most two month old babies sleep through the night(yes, the whole night!) and young children are generally better behaved and more patient than American children.  It’s fascinating to read about what she’s discovered.  It’s all quite logical and practical… a very interesting and humorous read.

So in the book Pamela mentions this yogurt cake that a three year old child is making when she goes to visit a friend, and she includes the recipe.  I tried it yesterday and it was quite delish.  It doesn’t exactly fit into my favourite category of “healthy” desserts, but it does have a cup of yogurt in it… so that’s something, right?  And it’s delicious with strawberries(or any kind of berry I’m sure).  I’ll be adding it to my “favourite ways to use plain yogurt” list!

Here’s the recipe(a little bit modified from the book due to conversions and whatnot):

Ingredients

1 c. plain yogurt

2 eggs

1-2 c. sugar

1 tsp vanilla

3/4 c. vegetable oil

2 c. flour

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

Method

Preheat oven to 375F.  Use vegetable oil to grease a 9-inch round cake pan or a loaf pan(I used a loaf pan.  I was a bit scared when I took it out at 35 minutes and it didn’t seem done at all… but 10 extra minutes and it was perfect!).

Gently combine the wet ingredients in a large bowl.  Add dry ingredients and mix gently until just combined(don’t overmix).  You can add 1 c. frozen berries or chocolate chips or anything you like.  Bake for 35 minutes(I did 45).  It should be almost crispy on the outside, but springy on the inside.  Let it cool.  Lovely with some form of cream(I just whipped cream from the carton) and tea!

Bon appetit! 🙂

One thought on “bringing up bébé and making yogurt cake

Leave a Reply

