why I love the north, part two: ravens

I grew up in Southern Ontario where crows are plentiful, but they have never captured my interest like the huge ravens of the north.  It was love at first sight, or maybe it was sound, when I spent the summer of 2007 in Dawson City.  Their size has always amazed me, probably because I’m so used to seeing crows… but I also love the hundreds of crazy noises they make, the way they hop around, and their interesting personalities.  I’ve had lots of fun over the last couple of years taking photos of them – which can be a  challenge because of their colour – it’s hard to capture the details of their faces. (side note: that’s why I wanted to get a light coloured dog, so that it’d be easier to get good pictures.  You know you’re a photographer when, eh?!)  Ravens are everywhere in Lower Post and Watson Lake and I enjoy them very much.  Here are some of my favourite shots of these funny creatures.

A few interesting raven facts:

*Ravens are two times heavier than crows

*The oldest known wild Common Raven lived to be 17 years 2 months old

*Raven’s calls can express tenderness, happiness, surprise, emotion or rage.  They are masters of imitation – I’ve heard them sound like water drops, cats, and crows.  Some say they can be even taught to learn the human speech.

*The Common Raven is an acrobatic flier, often doing rolls and somersaults in the air. One bird was seen flying upside down for more than a half-mile. Young birds are fond of playing games with sticks, repeatedly dropping them, then diving to catch them in midair.

“Consider the ravens: They do not sow or reap, they have no storeroom or barn; yet God feeds them. And how much more valuable you are than birds!” – Luke 12:24

Caw!

why I love the north part one is here

One thought on “why I love the north, part two: ravens

  1. M says:

    I never thought about the whole dark/light thing when it came to photographing animals. Now I’m even more impressed! You have such an amazing eye.

    Like

Leave a Reply

