Silky Chocolate Pie

 

Here’s the recipe for the pie I mentioned in my post yesterday.  It is incredibly easy to make, and also incredibly delicious.  My only tip is that when serving to non health nut people, don’t tell them about the tofu until after they’ve eaten it. 🙂  I’m excited about this recipe because I think you can play around with it a bit – in the near future I’m going to experiment with mint, peanut butter, maybe some raspberry coulis… oh, the possibilities.

Thanks to Dr. Oz for introducing this recipe to my mother, who introduced it to me.

Ingredients

13 oz semisweet chocolate chips

1/3 cup coffee liqueur  (we had chocolate almond liqueur in the house so I used that)

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 lb silken tofu

1 tbsp honey

1 (9-in) prepared chocolate wafer crust (store-bought is fine)

Directions

Place enough water in the bottom of a 4-quart saucepan to come 1 inch up the sides. Bring to a simmer over medium heat.

Place the chocolate chips and liqueur in a medium metal mixing bowl, set over the simmering water, and stir with a rubber or silicone spatula until melted. Remove from the heat and stir in the vanilla extract.

Combine the tofu, chocolate mixture, and honey in a blender or food processor and spin until smooth (about 1 minute).

Pour the filling into the crust and refrigerate for 2 hours, or until the filling sets firm.

Original recipe was found here: http://www.doctoroz.com/videos/alton-browns-dairy-free-chocolate-pie

4 thoughts on “Silky Chocolate Pie

  1. Jeff says:

    Silken Tofu eh? It sort of weirds me out, but them I look at the pie again and I have an irresistable urge to drool. I may just have to go out and give tofu a try!

    Like

Leave a Reply

