why I love the north, part one: fashion

A couple of weeks ago, Nuni and I started driving to Thunder Bay – the first leg of our long journey back north, where we’ve decided to live for the next few years.  If you’ve ever driven from Southern to Northern Ontario, you know that there’s a whole lot of… nothing!  Well, that’s not absolutely true.  We passed through a few tiny towns with obscure names like Wawa, Spanish, and Marathon.  Each time we passed through one, I’d think to myself, “Why in the world would anyone want to live here?” and then I’d remember where we were going – the Yukon, of all places, to a tiny little community located 4.5 hours from the nearest Timmy’s!  I’m sure Wawa and Spanish have their endearing qualities just like our Watson Lake has.  And the purpose of this little series is to let you in on Canada’s best kept secret: the great, white north.

After spending the last six months in the south(southern Brazil, southern Ontario) I am so thrilled to be back where I feel at home.  I spent two years living here and I loved it – though I didn’t always know why.  The majority of the year is winter.  It’s dark for most of the day from November to January.  It’s small.  It’s not even particularly pretty.  So why, I asked myself, did I miss it so much when we were away?

WHY I LOVE THE NORTH, PART ONE: (please note that these are in no particular order whatsoever, and this reason is definitely not at the top of my list) northern fashion!!

I have a confession to make.  I really like fashion!  I love long grey pea coats and fancy boots… I love hats and leggings and I am constantly jealous of girls who can pull off this look!  I could, technically, just go out and buy myself some fancy items.  However, more than I like to be fashionable, I like to be comfortable, and I like to be warm!  And in the Yukon(at least in Watson), no one gives a crap if you look good!  If you want to go and freeze yourself by wearing leggings and fancy boots, you just go right ahead.

So before I arrived in Watson I was in Vancouver for a few days visiting my relatives.  My aunts took me to Value Village to find a coat and boots for the last winter month of the season.  I was determined at first to get something warm and fashionable and comfortable… and I think I succeeded, though it wasn’t what I originally expected.

First of all I got these awesome boots that may not be cool and stylish anywhere else in Canada, but are VERY cool and stylish here.  Score.

Image
And secondly I got a very nice blue coat that can be casual or slightly fancy(you don’t ever really need to go beyond slightly fancy here).  Let’s see if I can find a photo…Image
Warm, comfortable, and stylish – at least for the Yukon.
I think that people’s lack of concern about fashion carries over to other areas as well, like what your house, car or yard look like.  It’s not about keeping up with the Joneses.  But we’ll save that for another post!
Stay warm! 🙂

5 thoughts on “why I love the north, part one: fashion

  1. Kristy says:

    Lindsay….

    You are just too cute in your posts. It’s been so long since we have talked, but I still get an email when you post something new, so for the last few months, I have started to catch up back with you, and you don’t even know!! Gotta love blog stalkers…I know i have some of my own, on my own blog, but don’t know who they are!! LOL

    Anyway, I guess it has been a long time since we have chatted, cause I saw in one of your posts the other day, that you are pregnant!! That’s so exciting…when are you due?? Congratulations!!

    Just wanted to let you know that I am here, reading your blog, so keep updating, I love to read what’s happening in your life. And if ever your travels to you to Alberta, let me know…I would LOVE to see you!

    Kristy (hope you still remember who I am 🙂

    Like

    • Lindsay says:

      Hey Kristy!! Oh my word it’s great to hear from you. Thank you for being in touch! I’m glad you are able to follow my blog, I need to check up on yours too!!

      I’m due on Canada Day! Let’s see if he’s a punctual baby… 🙂

      Hope you are doing well – I’m gonna go check your blog right now 🙂

      Like

  2. M says:

    Hey Lins,

    I am totally forwarding this to my roommate. I think she would love the North, but she says she’d get seasonal affective disorder. Any tips on beating that?

    Love, Mary

    Like

    • Lindsay says:

      Hey Mary! Some people buy special lamps that are made specifically for that. I guess it depends on where you live though – we get about 6 hrs of daylight in the deepest part of winter and I don’t find it all that bad. Of course, in the summer, it’s the opposite, which I think makes up for the winter 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

