the grass is always greener

This post was inspired by Joy.

I remember a few months ago when I just couldn’t WAIT to get to Brazil.  I thought it would be so nice to be in the heat, lie on the beach all day, have fun meeting Nuni’s friends and do my best to learn the language.  It has been nice, and we’ve been so blessed here; but I encountered many unexpected feelings and situations.  I didn’t expect to feel lonely in a room full of people.  I didn’t expect to get so sun burned that I’d throw up.  I didn’t expect to get excited to go shopping because I’d be in the AC for a while.  In times of discomfort, it is way too easy to focus on the negative and forget about all of the wonderful things around you.  So right now I am going to make a list of the things I love about Brazil/Floripa.

-mangoes(and other fruit, but mangoes are the best)

-caldo de cana(sugar cane juice), coconut water straight out of the coconut

caldo de cana and coconut water

petit gateau with Nuni and his Dad at a fancy sushi restaurant

-being able to wear a dress every day if I want

-the pool in the backyard

-chatting with my sister in law

-attempted communication with my mother in law

-how my nephew tries so hard to explain things to me and makes an effort to learn english phrases

-my grandmother-in-law’s laugh and how every single time we visit her she sends me back with Sonho de Valsa(my favourite chocolate)

-my other grandmother-in-law’s abundance of gifts

Now here I am again, getting very excited about going back to Canada and re-starting our life in the north.  There are so many things I am looking forward to.  And I’m sure there will be a lot of things that will happen that I don’t expect.  But here are the things I can’t wait for:

-to cuddle our dog Lucy

-to visit with my parents and relatives

-to see our wonderful friends again, particularly in the Yukon

-being understood

-being able to say what I want to say

-thrift stores

-sleeping under the covers

-Reese Peanut Butter Cups, home made cookies and muffins

-Baking Soda

I suppose what I’m learning and what I need to master is to give thanks in all circumstances; to try and appreciate the good things in the midst of the bad or unexpected.  Because there are good things all around and so, so many things I take for granted.

give thanks

One thought on “the grass is always greener

  1. M says:

    My goodness, this certainly struck a chord. I remember when I lived in Spain for a while, I thought that I’d get free of all the social responsibilities I had in Canada and actually have time to write. What actually happened was I became lonely and exhausted from trying to speak Spanish all day, never wrote a page, and was finally saved by my wonderful, wonderful neighbours who invited me over for Mexican soap-operas twice a week. I’ll never scorn simple social interactions again.

    What I’m looking forward to most about you getting home is being able to phone you! But I hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Brazil too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

