satisfaction and thankfulness

Lately I have been thinking about being happy and satisfied with life.  This past summer, all I wanted was to quit my job and become a homemaker.  I decided that working was not for me and I would be perfectly happy at home all day, cooking, cleaning, relaxing… it would be a wonderful life.

Fast forward to now, where I don’t have a job and am basically living my dream of unemployment.  Instead of rejoicing and living it up, I think things like: I should get a job… I’m not being useful… we need more money… I’m bored…

I guess our situation is a little bit tricky right now because though we have moved to Ontario, we are hoping to go to Brazil in the near future for an extended visit, and most employers are looking for people who can stay on longer than a month.  And just by the way, I was offered a job at my favourite online store, well.ca, and Nuni was called by a landscaping company, but we felt that we should be honest and tell them what are plans are.  Would you do that?  Just curious.

So anyways, I was writing in my journal today about being satisfied with whatever your situation is, whether you are employed or not… and being thankful for the blessings you have!  So here is my list of things I am thankful for at the moment:

-sleeping in every day (not too late, don’t worry)

-going for walks with Lucy and/or Stephanie around the neighbourhood

lovely little path by the park

-meeting new people at church

-constant fun and good conversation with Steph and Kyle

-lovely weather

-the yellow tree across the road and its surrounding yellow carpet

anyone know what kind of tree it is?

-dreaming about Brazil with Nuni

-Steph’s baby bump and feeling the wee one move around

-seeing Kyle and Steph so excited about the baby and about taking care of Lucy while we’re gone

we scored this costume for $2 at a yard sale!

-time to make fun crafts like this one

And that’s just the beginning.  We are BLESSED and we are loved by Jesus and life is beautiful.

you need!

2 thoughts on “satisfaction and thankfulness

  1. Shauna says:

    Hey Linds!

    So excited that you are in Ontario! 🙂 I am in London and would absolutely LOVE to see you and Nuni before you head to Brazil. I have a vehicle so could come see you in Guelph if that is easier. Please send me an email and I will give you my number.

    Miss you and hope to see you soon!
    XOXO
    Shauna

    Like

  2. Allison says:

    Thank you for reminding me to be thankful & content, my dear friend.

    Isn’t it funny how we see the beauty of potential situations more readily than we do the current blessings? I’m totally with ya in this daily walk, hand-in-hand with contentment (goodbye mister want-it-all!) 🙂

    Your thoughts reminded me of my friend Kirsten’s post: http://operatingonlions.blogspot.com/2011/08/blessings-from-raspberry-bush.html

    Happy trails as you enjoy the beauty of Ontario’s fall colours & the joy of being with such wonderful people. It sounds like you’re having a blast despite the difficulty of waiting & not knowing…. Thanks for your posts Linz!

    Like

Leave a Reply

