predestination

We had some friends drop in last night for a visit, and the topic of predestination came up.  Our friends said something like, “Isn’t it awesome that God planned this moment a long time ago?  God already knew we were going to be here.”  While I believe that, the idea that God knew and knows every moment of every person’s life from beginning to end is a little… troubling for me.  Maybe I just don’t understand what predestination actually is.  But what I have gathered from readings and conversations is that people who believe in predestination believe that God has already planned out every moment of your life.  Someone, please correct me if you have a different understanding.  I hope you do.

I just finished reading “Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl.”  It was my first time reading it.  It’s a book that I think everyone should read.  I felt like I knew Anne so well by the end of her diary, and when I read the afterword, I sobbed.  I felt so much emotion… so much sadness, anger, bewilderment… did you know that she died two months before the war ended?  Two months.  That fact alone makes my eyes well up.  She almost made it.  This beautiful, brilliant girl spent two difficult years in hiding, never going outside… only to be taken away, be separated from her father, see her mother and sister die, and then die herself, just two months before they all could have been free.

After I finished reading, I started thinking about predestination again, and Hitler, and all of the events around World War II.  Did God plan, or predestine, these events?  Did God really plan for Hitler to do all of the horrible things he did?  Does God predestine some people to know Him, and some people to never hear about Him?  Again, maybe my idea of predestination is just totally off.  I don’t know.  Someone help!

One thought on “predestination

  1. Emily says:

    Hi Lindsay,
    I’m going to send you an email in the next couple of days, on this – give me a bit of time to think through what to write. I’ve actually been thinking about concepts of destiny & predestination a little over the past few months. We can talk.

    Like

Leave a Reply

