long time no blog!

It’s been a little while since my last post!  My sincerest apologies to you faithful checkers/readers.  I think my problem is that I have SO much to say and SO much to share that sometimes I don’t know where to start, and also I worry that I won’t be able to express my feelings accurately.  But that’s something I need to get over.  I need to put my perfectionism aside and just write.

So here are some recent thoughts and happenings in my life.

-my friend Allison has come to visit and work with me for the summer at the daycare.  This is such a huge blessing.  I really can’t express my happiness and gratitude.  We’ve worked a lot at organizing the layout of the daycare, and planning, and dreaming… it’s actually made it enjoyable for me.  Praise the Lord!

-I’ve been reading a number of different books but I am particularly fond of Anne Frank: the diary of a young girl.  I’ve never read it before, and I think everyone should read it.  She was an incredibly thoughtful and intelligent teenager.

-I’m growing an avocado tree “from scratch”.  I’m so proud of it.  I plan on writing a post in the near future about how to grow your own.

it's so much bigger now though and it has leaves!

-my garden is going pretty well.  I’m growing tomatoes, some herbs, beans, peas, zucchini, squash, and some flowers.  I hoped to do more but you have to buy soil and it’s kind of expensive.  I’ve learned a lot though already… too much to write.  The most important lesson I think though is that you should invest in good soil and fertilizer!  It makes a difference!  Who knew.

-I’m learning so much at the daycare.  So so much.  The hardest thing has been trying not to worry about what people are thinking/saying about me.  All I can do is my best.  I’ve been trying to remember Galatians 1:10 –> “Am I now trying to win the approval of human beings, or of God? Or am I trying to please people? If I were still trying to please people, I would not be a servant of Christ.”

-I love coconut oil!  I have been cooking with it, baking with it, and even using it as face and hand moisturizer.  Try it.  Wonderful stuff.  You can get it on well.ca if you happen to live in a somewhat remote community.

-Nuni and I are playing in Whitehorse on July 28th, a little concert in a series called “Arts in the Park.”  Also we are happy because our “Waiting in Vain” video on youtube has over 14,000 views!  A Bob Marley facebook page selected it as one of their “Friday covers.”  Now we’re famous…

-Also random exciting news, the singer from PEI who called Will and Kate a “dootch” went to MTA and I remember seeing her perform in her first year at an international dinner.  Her name is Meaghen Blanchard and she’s quite awesome!

I think that should do it for now!  Here’s a few snapshots!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

One thought on “long time no blog!

  1. Allison says:

    my dear friend,
    it is so good to hear your thoughts, whether in writing or in person — however I’m REALLY enjoying time with you face-to-face!! 🙂

    Thanks so much for your post and pics, and for the encouraging, honest, and dedicated friend that you are always.

    I love you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

