who am I that I should go… and manage the daycare?

Today I drove a very long and windy road to a beautiful community called Telegraph Creek.  It’s Heritage Week here, and we brought the Denetia students to join in the festivities.  I drove our car and was accompanied by a ten year old girl named Faith.  We started out listening to songs on my ipod, snoozing(only Faith, don’t worry), and chatting.  But three hours in, the ipod battery died, and so we drove the rest of the way(2-3 more hours) “a capella.”  We chatted some more, and I taught her some songs my Dad used to sing with us in the car.  Then I started singing some camp songs and I asked her if she knew the song “Pharaoh, Pharaoh,” which was one of my favourites.  She didn’t know it, so I sang it for her.  The song’s lyrics tell the story of how Moses led the Israelites out of Egypt.  Afterwards, I asked Faith if she knew what I’d been singing about, and that led me to telling the story of Moses – from his birth to when the Egyptians were drowned in the Red Sea.  I had to laugh at myself when I was telling the part about the burning bush, when God called Moses to led the Israelites out of Egypt, and Moses was like, “uh – me?  Are you sure you have the right guy?  I really don’t think I’m up for this job” – and God was like, “You’re the guy.  I want YOU to do this.  And don’t worry, I’ll be right beside you.”  As I spoke those words(or something like that), it was like I was describing myself and my current job situation.

In the hours between my secretary job and piano teaching job at the school, I am the manager of the daycare in Lower Post.  It’s hard to say how it happened; I’ve never worked in a daycare before, I’ve never worked with small children before, I’ve never managed anything… the list goes on.  There have been so many times I’ve thought “I am not the person for this job.  I’m not qualified, and I don’t even really want to do this job.”  I shared my feelings with my Mom and she challenged me to keep going and get back up when I fall down.  At the time, I didn’t receive this advice well.  But, as I’ve learned over the years, Mom is usually right.  So I’m still the daycare manager and I’m still learning, still struggling… and it never occurred to me that maybe I actually am supposed to be doing this job.  Maybe I can do it – even if I don’t do everything perfectly.  The thing I know for sure is that I won’t be alone.

One thought on “who am I that I should go… and manage the daycare?

Leave a Reply

