Balcony Girls # 6

the girls LOVED the guacamole... and the avocado pits!

Balcony Girls this week was all about unity and sticking together.  We talked about how it feels to be left out of a group.  It feels bad!  A Balcony Girl doesn’t exclude others, she includes others.  That makes other people feel good, and that is the whole idea behind being a Balcony Girl – we want to build people UP!

At a previous Balcony Girls meeting, someone noticed avocados in our fruit bowl, and asked what they were.  Avocados are one of my favourite vegetables/fruits(depending on who you ask!) and immediately I knew that we had to spend some time making guacamole.  So that’s what we did this week.   They helped make it by mashing the avos, squeezing the lemons and shaking the salt into the bowl.   They loved making it and they loved eating it.

We also made a cake.  This was in the lesson plan as a way to teach unity.  I gave each girl a different ingredient and told them to have a taste.  Everyone was envious of the girl who had cocoa.  “Ooh, let me try that one!”  Of course, each ingredient by itself(with the exception of sugar) does not taste good.  Not at all!  Even cocoa, which smells so amazing.  It can be like that in a group setting.  When everyone is included, the results are positive.  But when someone is left out, the “cake” might not turn out as you’d expect.

While the cake was baking we played some games at the school park: a clothes relay race and a shoe kicking game.  We had fun.  Then we went back to the house and had cake and ice cream.  Yum!

2 thoughts on “Balcony Girls # 6

  1. Mary Harbold says:

    Hello! I found your wonderful blog via a search on Christian groups for preteen girls. I would love to get a group going for my daughter. I was wondering if you would share tips on your successes and point me in the right direction for finding someone wonderful to help start and lead a group.
    I have asked around at our church and at the schools but so far have had no interest.
    Thanks!
    Mary

    Like

    • Lindsay says:

      Hi Mary, thanks for your comment! I feel like the most important thing in a group like this is to have a leader who is interested in building relationships with the girls. It worked well for me because I already knew most of the girls very well and interacted with them on a daily basis(they were students at the school I worked at). Making the theme of the lesson clear and concise is important as some of my girls’ minds wander easily! I liked also how the curriculum had games and activities that supported the theme.

      I hope you’ll be able to find(or start!) a group for your daughter. Take care and God bless! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

