“so what’s Nuni up to these days?”

This is a question I hear a lot.  I really don’t mind answering, but sometimes I feel like it’s a polite way of asking “Is Nuni being a bum?” or “Are you guys getting by on one income?”  For anyone who doesn’t know, we are still waiting to hear back from immigration to find out if Nuni will be given a work visa or not.  Until then, Nuni isn’t allowed to work or even volunteer.  It can be a little bit frustrating at times, but mostly we see it as a blessing.  Nuni is the kind of person who can amuse himself easily, and I’m really thankful for that.  He loves to cook, play guitar, research guitar pedals and accessories, take Lucy for walks, and spend time at “the shop” with the guys.  For being unemployed, he keeps pretty busy.  The other day, actually, I said to him, “it’s a good thing you can entertain yourself, ’cause if you couldn’t, you’d probably be depressed, and then I’d be depressed, and Lucy would be depressed…” he smiled and agreed.  “I’m pretty laid-back,” he said.

Nuni’s unemployed status was particularly helpful this past week.  On Monday evening I felt a little bit crampy after supper.  I’d made this chicken almond butter dish that didn’t taste very good, and I blamed my pain on that.  But it persisted on Tuesday, and got worse as the day went on.  I thought it was some sort of bug and would go away by itself, and even though I was advised by a friend and my mother to get it checked out, I didn’t want to be a “wimp,” so I just stayed in bed.  At midnight, I couldn’t take the pain anymore and decided to take some Advil.   As Nuni and I lay there in bed, I asked him to pray for me.  He placed his hand on my belly and asked God to heal me.  As he did this, he applied some pressure to the right side of my abdomen, which was the most painful spot.  He decided then that we were going to the hospital – “I am the head of this family,”  he said, lovingly.  So off we went to Watson Lake.  The Advil kicked in a little while later and I felt slightly better, but the doctor advised us to come in again in the morning for some tests.   After checking me out again the following day, Dr. Stepan wasn’t sure what was wrong, but was fairly certain it wasn’t something they could deal with, so advised us to drive the 5 hours to Whitehorse General Hospital.

I was admitted as a patient on Wednesday evening, and didn’t leave again until Friday afternoon.  To make a long story short, I was eventually diagnosed with acute appendicitis and had surgery on Thursday afternoon!  Everything was very new – I’d never stayed overnight in the hospital, never had an IV, an ultrasound, CT scan… let alone surgery!  It was an experience that could have been pretty scary if I was alone.

Of course, those of us who follow God are never alone.  And I always knew He was with me.  But right now I want to talk about my husband.

During my time in the hospital, Nuni was constantly concerned about me.  Though it wasn’t possible for him to be with me physically all of the time, I know that he was always thinking of me.  After I was admitted, he went out and got us some supper, and also picked up a book for me to read.  When I was being attended to by the nurses and doctors, he asked lots of questions and offered information.  He came early the next morning to help me through my tests, and prayed for me before my surgery.  He was a constant support and encouragement.  The morning after the operation, he brought me a basked filled with chocolates and Burt’s Bees goodies.  I felt incredibly blessed to have such a loving, caring husband!  What a different experience it would have been without him.

So that’s what Nuni is up to these days.  He’s busy being an amazing husband, and not just when he has to take me to the hospital!  He is the best life partner I could ask for.  We have so much fun together every day and encourage each other to become better people and to shine the light of Christ more brightly.  He makes me smile and laugh every day.  He amazes me with his gifts of music, soccer, cooking, and making people feel special.  No, he doesn’t have a job, and no, we don’t have piles of money buried in our back yard.  But we have a lot of love and a lot of happiness.  And I think that is what matters the most.

meu marido

5 thoughts on ““so what’s Nuni up to these days?”

  1. Venessa says:

    Nuni, first of all – Thanks. I almost started crying when I read this post. I am thankful that you are such an amazing husband to Lindsay. I am so glad that you are ok too Lindsay. I am glad that all is better.

    Like

  2. Allison Dow says:

    I am so glad that our heavenly Papa has given you arms to wrap around you and a voice to speak peace over you, Lindz, and a heart that loves you so much, through Nuni. (Nuni: obrigado, irmão!) I love you both… and love our great God for caring for you, no matter what.
    Feel better soon, hon!

    Like

  3. Kathryn Cross says:

    This is beautiful Lindsay, I’m glad you have such a great partner and friend. I hope that I can meet him some day! Isn’t it just great to thinking about all of the ways we love our partners? I was writing a valentines note to tim today and it was just so nice to think of all the things I love about him. I don’t think we do it enough, at least I know I don’t. I’m glad you’re enjoying this time that you have together to get to know each other better before Nuni has to work. It’s really a cherished time and I see that you’re making the most of it! Love you lots!

    Like

  4. Sarah Bokhout says:

    Hey Lindsay! I can totally relate to the “what’s Nuni up to these days?” question. It was a number of months before Nat could work, and those were hard times…so glad you guys have such a great outlook towards this time in your life. And so glad that you our God is looking after you! XOXO

    Like

Leave a Reply

