being okay with imperfection

So our concert is coming up soon – in less than two weeks!  Eek/Yay!  Nuni and I are singing some songs together, some separately, and we hope to record them and post them on here for whoever can’t make it(likely everyone who reads this blog!).  I decided to start today with “I Can Dream of You” as sung by James Taylor.  I recorded it a few times, never quite satisfied.  I even tried to load a couple of attempts into iMovie to see if I could take all the “good” parts and put them together so it could seem like I had sung it perfectly.  But I couldn’t get it to work, and even as I was trying, I knew that I shouldn’t.  I must learn to accept my imperfection!!  I’m definitely my worst critic.  And not just in singing – in everything!  In my photography, in my marriage, in my life… it’s really hard for me to be “okay” with my mistakes.

This recording is almost to my satisfaction.  I was playing, singing, thinking, “yeah, this is going pretty good,” and all of a sudden, “saaayyy”…. bleh.  Ooh, I was so frustrated with myself, but I kept going anyway.  I decided to post it here to share with you, but also to take a step toward being okay with imperfection.

5 thoughts on “being okay with imperfection

  1. Venessa says:

    Well, yes you are very critical. I honestly think that it is great. I really wish I could be at your concert, but now I am excited that I get to listen to some more of your music later.
    V

    Like

  2. Allison Dow says:

    thanks for sharing your beautiful voice and song, my dear! It’s so great hearing you sing again!! You are so gifted. Not kidding. 🙂 Please keep it up… and we can’t wait to hear more! xoxo

    Like

  3. Shauna says:

    It is so great to hear your beautiful voice again, Lindsay! I haven’t heard you sing since my wedding, almost 2 years ago!

    Love and miss you!
    Shauna

    Like

  4. Kathryn Cross says:

    very beautiful I love hearing your voice! Tim says “hey it’s Lindsay with hair!” I guess his picture of you is from our wedding when you have very little hair…I told him it’s been almost 4 years since then….men;)

    Like

Leave a Reply

