acceptance

I am currently learning that it’s okay to get help.  For the last couple of years I seem to have wanted to do things on my own.  I ran a Music, Art and Drama program at Denetia school last year, which was okay, but really hard.  It was hard because I wasn’t following any sort of curriculum or plan.  I would be sitting in class five minutes before I was scheduled to teach, thinking, “What should we do today?”  Maybe it’s just because I’m not the best planner.  And what I’m learning now is that that’s okay. I am the kind of person who does well when following guidelines.  This is demonstrated when I cook.  I’m a recipe girl.  Nuni is not a recipe guy.  He is creative.  He can look in the fridge, see what we have and come up with something amazing very quickly.  That is his style, and thank goodness for that!  I, on the other hand, like to look at the cookbook, find a recipe in which we have all or most of the ingredients, and go from there.

My love for guidelines can also be seen in my quiet times.  I am pretty sure that I struggled every single day last year to spend some quality time with God.  I knew I was struggling and I felt ashamed because of it.  I didn’t have any kind of devotional or Bible reading plan.  I’m thankful that God knows me better than I know myself, ’cause for Christmas I received a “Daily Bread” devotional journal from my friend Ruth.  I am so, so happy to report that I haven’t missed a single day since January 1st.  And it’s not a burden anymore – it’s something I look forward to and thoroughly enjoy.  I know that I still have a long way to go to reach the intimate relationship I desire with God.  But I also know that using this devotional is keeping me on the right track.

I just love that everyone is different.  Everyone has different strengths and weaknesses.  Some people really like guidelines, and some people like more freedom.  And one isn’t better than the other.  It is so easy to think of an action as “wrong” if it’s done differently than how we do it.  Is it wrong that Nuni leaves his clothes in a pile in front of the dresser?  That’s not how I do it, and that’s not how I like it, but that’s his way.  It’s hard for me to accept(and I’m not sure I’ve fully accepted it yet) because it’s not my way… it’s different.

“Accept one another, then, just as Christ accepted you, in order to bring praise to God.” – Romans 15:7

3 thoughts on “acceptance

  1. Allison Dow says:

    this is so good, Lindsay!! Wow. It really challenges my thinking about myself and others. It reminded me of something Mother Teresa said:
    “if you judge people, you have no time to love them.”
    So true! Thanks for being honest. I love you!

    Like

  2. Ansku says:

    Thank you for this post, Lindsay! Seeing things different rather than wrong – this is what I’m trying to learn every day. God Bless!

    Like

Leave a Reply

