distractions

It’s amazing how Satan tries to prevent me from spending time with Jesus.  Am I alone here?  For the past few months I have struggled with my “quiet times.”  When I was in YWAM, I had such a good routine, such a good, close relationship with Jesus.  It helped that I was surrounded by tons of like-minded people who were also striving for closeness with God.  And probably it helped that, at least when I was a DTS student, having a daily quiet time was a course requirement!  It’s been two years since I left YWAM.  Now it is up to ME and only ME to have my quiet times!  I wish I could say that I’ve been diligent and disciplined and consistent, but that simply would not be true!  I’ve been doing okay – I read the Bible pretty regularly, though not every single day – I write in my journal, I pray with my husband almost every night.  But I rarely make the time to just SIT and BE STILL before God – to listen to what He would like to say to me.  ‘Cause sometimes it takes time.  God wants us to seek His face, to wait on Him…

So lately I’ve been realizing that I need to get back into that habit – of just being with God.  And it’s AMAZING at how much Satan tries to prevent that.  Here’s an example conversation:

Lindsay: “hmm.  I have some free time now.  Maybe I should spend some time with God.”

Satan: “or maybe you should hang up the laundry.  Or wash the dishes.  Or bake cookies.  You can spend time with God after that.  He’ll still be there.  He won’t mind.”

Sometimes Satan wins.  But sometimes he doesn’t.  I’m reading the Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis right now and it’s really making me aware of how sneaky Satan really is.  Not only does he put these thoughts in our heads, but he also tries to make us believe that we’re the ones thinking these things.

When I do press on and ignore Satan’s distraction temptations, I am blessed by God.  He is always there, always ready to hang out with His daughter – no matter how many times I push Him aside or tell Him “maybe later.”  How wonderful, patient and kind He is.  I encourage you, as I encourage myself, to ignore Satan’s distractions and just be still before God!  Love Him with all your heart, mind, soul and strength.

He says, “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” – Psalm 46:10

Leave a Reply

